Skip to Main Content

Prescription Drug Affordability Board – Members

Prescription board Chair

Van T. Mitchell, Chair

Van Mitchell is the Chair of the Prescription Drug Affordability Board. He  previously served as the Secretary of the Maryland Department of Health from 2015 through 2016, and as the Principal Deputy Secretary from 2004 through 2007. He also served as a Member of the House of Delegates from January 1995 through September 2004, where he sat on both the Economic Matters and Appropriations Committees.
Prescription board chairman

Gerard Anderson, PhD, Member

Gerard Anderson is a professor of health policy and management and professor of international health at the Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School Public Health, professor of medicine at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, and the director of the Johns Hopkins Center for Hospital Finance and Management. Prior to his arrival at Johns Hopkins, Dr. Anderson held various positions in the Office of the Secretary, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, where he helped to develop Medicare prospective payment legislation.
Prescription board Member

Joseph Levy, PhD, Member

Joseph Levy is an Assistant Scientist at the Johns Hopkins School of Public Health. Dr. Levy focuses his research in the field of health economics and health services research, including studying issues related to cost-effectiveness research and pharmaceutical costs. Prior to joining the Johns Hopkins School of Public Health, Dr. Levy worked as a postdoctoral fellow at the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy and Merck’s Center for Observation & Real-World Evidence (CORE).
Prescription board Member

Eberechukwu Onukwugha, MS, PhD, Member

Eberechukwu Onukwugha is an associate professor in the Department of Pharmaceutical Health Services Research at the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy and is the executive director of the Pharmaceutical Research Computing center at the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy. Dr. Onukwugha’s research interests are in pharmacoeconomic analysis, health disparities, and medical decision-making by individuals and institutions. She examines the costs and health outcomes associated with health-related decisions as well as the institutional and environmental context framing individuals’ health-related decisions.
Prescription board Member

Stephen Rockower, MD, FAAOS, Member

Dr. Rockower is a retired Orthopaedic Surgeon in Montgomery County. In his 40 years of practice, he has been President of the Montgomery County Medical Society, MedChi, the Maryland State Medical Society, and a Delegate to the American Medical Association. He has worked at all levels of medical and hospital organizations, and continues to see patients at a free clinic in Rockville. Dr. Rockower previously served on the PDAB Stakeholder Council representing physicians. He is also a volunteer guide at the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History.